No surprises among Vikings’ initial cuts
Derrick Coleman (Thearon W. Henderson/Getty)
Derrick Coleman (Thearon W. Henderson/Getty)
Posted Aug 25, 2012
Tim Yotter

The Vikings released 15 players to get to the NFL-mandated roster maximum of 75 players by Monday.

The Minnesota Vikings released 15 players Saturday to get to the NFL-mandated roster maximum of 75 players ahead of Monday’s 3 p.m. deadline.

There were no surprises among those waived. They are:

G Bridger Buche (Eastern Michigan), RB Derrick Coleman (UCLA), G Grant Cook (Arkansas), LB Solomon Elimimian (Hawaii), CB Corey Gatewood (Stanford), T Levi Horn (Montana), DE Anthony Jacobs (Minnesota), WR Kamar Jorden (Bowling Green), LB Tyler Nielsen (Iowa), DE Ernest Owusu (California), CB Chris Stroud (Webber International), WR Kerry Taylor (Arizona State) and WR Bryan Walters (Cornell)

All but four – Elimimian, Horn, Taylor and Walters – were outright rookies and none of those released had more than one year of NFL experience.

NFL teams are required to cut their rosters to a maximum of 53 players by 8 p.m. Central Friday following the final preseason game.

Tim Yotter is the publisher of Viking Update. Follow Viking Update on Twitter and discuss this topic on our message boards. To become a subscriber to the Viking Update web site or magazine, click here.

Related Stories
Photo Gallery: Chargers-Vikings
 -by  Aug 25, 2012
Sunday slant: Sleepers and slippers
 -by  Aug 26, 2012
Holler: NFL can’t afford officiating gaffes
 -by  Aug 26, 2012

Subscribe today and get a full year of Viking Update Magazine with an annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Minnesota
[View My HotList]