Vikings' Carter a Hall of Fame finalist again

Cris Carter (Brian Bahr/Getty)

Former Vikings WR Cris Carter is a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame once again. It's his sixth year of eligibility.

Former Vikings receiver Cris Carter is once again one of 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. It is the sixth year of eligibility for Carter.

Carter joins repeat nominees RB Jerome Bettis, WR Tim Brown, owner Eddie DeBartolo, LB/DE Kevin Greene, DE/LB Charles Haley, owner Art Modell, coach Bill Parcells, WR Andre Reed, LB David Robinson, G Will Shields and DB Aeneas Williams, along with first-year eligible nominees OL Larry Allen, OL Jonathan Ogden, DT Warren Sapp, and DE Michael Strahan. Two senior nominees – DT Curley Culp and LB Dave Robinson – were announced in August.

Only Reed, Greene and Haley have been eligible longer than Carter among the 15 modern-era nominees.

Carter played for the Vikings from 1990-2001 and was one of the most productive receivers in franchise history. In 16 NFL seasons, he played in 234 games, had 1,101 career receptions and recorded eight straight 1,000-yard seasons.

Carter had 42 100-yard games and finished his career with 130 touchdown receptions. His 122 receptions in 1994 were a single-season record at the time and he became the second player in NFL history catch 1,000 passes in a career.

He was named to the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 1990s and was the 1999 NFL Man of the Year. He was first- or second-team All-Pro in 1994, 1995 and 1999 and was named to the NFC Pro Bowl squad eight times (1994-2001).

The 6-foot-3, 202-pounder was a fourth-round selection of the Philadelphia Eagles in the 1987 supplemental draft, but when the Eagles put him on waivers in 1990, the Vikings claimed him for $100. He played the 2002 season with the Miami Dolphins.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Selection Committee meets in New Orleans, La. on Feb. 2 to decide the Class of 2013. The election results will be announced at 4:30 p.m. Central during a one-hour NFL Network special.

The 15 modern-era finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall's Selection Committee from a list of 127 nominees that earlier was reduced to a list of 27 semifinalists, during the multi-step, year-long selection process. To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent.

If elected, Carter would be the 12th Viking in the Hall of Fame, joining Chris Doleman, Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Randall McDaniel, Alan Page, John Randle, Fran Tarkenton, Ron Yary, and Gary Zimmerman. There are 21 modern-era receivers in the Hall of Fame.

Tim Yotter is the publisher of Viking Update. Follow Viking Update on Twitter and discuss this topic on our message boards. To become a subscriber to the Viking Update web site or magazine, click here. Recommended Stories

Up Next