Vikings schedule: Three prime-time games

Vikings schedule: Three prime-time games

The Vikings will have three games in prime time on different networks in addition to playing in London on Sept. 29. Their three prime-time games come over a four-week period following their Week 5 bye.

The Vikings will start what is expected to be their final season in the Metrodome on the road and potentially have their last game in the building (barring a home playoff game) on Dec. 29 for the regular-season finale against the Detroit Lions.

That was part of the intrigue with the NFL schedule being released Thursday night. In addition to the Metrodome pomp, the Vikings will play three games in prime time during a four-week stretch from Oct. 21 to Nov. 7 on three different networks. They will start that part of the schedule at the New York Giants on Oct. 21 (on ESPN), return home to host the Green Bay Packers at 7:30 p.m. on Oct. 28 (on NBC) and finish their prime-time schedule with a 7:25 p.m. game on Nov. 7 hosting the Washington Redskins (on NFL Network).

All of those games come after the Vikings' Week 5 bye, which is preceded by their trip to London when they "host" the Pittsburgh Steelers at noon Central Sept. 29.

In addition their prime-time game against the Packers, the Vikings travel to Green Bay on Nov. 24 for a noon game, but that falls in the second week of the NFL's "flexible schedule" season, when afternoon games can be moved to prime time to create a more intriguing game for a national television audience.

The Vikings start their home schedule Sept. 22 against the Cleveland Browns, meaning they will have only one game at the Metrodome before their Oct. 13 post-bye matchup against the Carolina Panthers.

Three of their final five games – vs. Chicago (Dec. 1), vs. Philadelphia (Dec. 15) and vs. Detroit (Dec. 29) – are at home.

2013 VIKINGS

SCHEDULE

All times Central. Home games in CAPS. All radio broadcasts on KFAN-100.3 FM, KTLK-1130 AM and the Vikings Radio Network.

PRESEASON
DAY DATE OPPONENT
TIME (CT)
TV
Fri. Aug. 9 HOUSTON TEXANS
7 p.m.
KARE-11
 
Fri. Aug. 16 at Buffalo Bills
6 p.m.
KARE-11
 
Sun. Aug. 25 at San Francisco 49ers
7 p.m.
NBC
 
Thu. Aug. 29 TENNESSEE TITANS
7 p.m.
KARE-11
REGULAR SEASON
DAY DATE OPPONENT
TIME (CT)
TV
Sun. Sept. 8 at Detroit Lions Noon FOX
 
Sun. Sept. 15 at Chicago Bears Noon FOX
Sun. Sept. 22 CLEVELAND BROWNS Noon CBS
 
Sun. Sept. 29 PITTSBURGH STEELERS (London) Noon CBS
BYE
Sun. Oct. 13 CAROLINA PANTHERS Noon FOX
 
Mon. Oct. 21 at New York Giants 7:40 p.m. ESPN
 
Sun. Oct. 27 GREEN BAY PACKERS 7:30 p.m. NBC
Sun. Nov. 3 at Dallas Cowboys Noon FOX
 
Thur. Nov. 7 WASHINGTON REDSKINS 7:25 p.m. NFLN
 
Sun. Nov. 17 at Seattle Seahawks 3:25 p.m.* FOX
 
Sun. Nov. 24 at Green Bay Packers Noon* FOX
 
Sun. Dec. 1 CHICAGO BEARS Noon* FOX
 
Sun. Dec. 8 at Baltimore Ravens Noon* FOX
 
Sun. Dec. 15 PHILADELPHIA EAGLES Noon* FOX
 
Sun. Dec. 22 at Cincinnati Bengals Noon* FOX
 
Sun. Dec. 29 DETROIT LIONS Noon* FOX
* Game time subject to change/flexible scheduling.
PLAYOFFS
Jan. 4-5 Wild Card Weekend
 
Jan. 11-12 Divisional Playoffs
Jan. 19 Conference Championships
 
Feb. 2 Super Bowl XLVIII, MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, N.J. 

VikingUpdate.com Recommended Stories